Housing named as key Scottish Government responsibility

HOUSING has been included in the portfolio of a cabinet secretary job title in the Scottish Government.

First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon, today completed appointments to her new ministerial team.

Consisting of ten cabinet secretaries, including the First Minister, the Scottish cabinet will be supported by 15 junior ministers. 

And former health secretary (until 2018), Shona Robison has been appointed cabinet secretary for social justice, housing and local government.

Prior to the dissolution of the Scottish Parliament ahead of the election of MSPs earlier this month, housing was a junior ministerial role held by Kevin Stewart, who has now been appointed a junior minister responsible for mental well-being and social care.

Again, before the dissolution, Aileen Campbell was a cabinet secretary responsible for communities and local government. She did not contest this year’s election.

Now, ‘community wealth’ is part of a junior ministerial portfolio also comprising public finance and planning, awarded to Tom Arthur.

Meanwhile, new MSP, Mairi McAllan, has been appointed junior minister, for environment, biodiversity and land reform.

See details of the whole cabinet team – here, on the Scottish Government website..

Picture: St Andrew’s House, Edinburgh

Picture credit: Place Design Scotland