New awards to recognise planning innovation

INNOVATION in planning is to be recognised in a new awards competition launched in Scotland.

The Scottish Planning Innovation Awards succeed the Scottish Awards for Quality in Planning, which celebrated its 20th anniversary four years ago.

Says the Scottish Government’s website, here, the new awards seek to align with a new national planning framework (here), aka NPF4, agreed by MSPs at the beginning of the year.

There are five categories to the awards:

Sustainable: sustainability and future proofing our places;

Productive: delivering economic investment and community wealth;

Liveable: placemaking and architecture whether in urban, rural or natural areas;

Digital: the use of digital application to advance planning and building standards; and

People: working with all age groups, excellence in leadership or achievement.

The closing date for entries is September 15.

Picture credit: Place Design Scotland

Comments are welcome – only courteous ones (as per our T&Cs) – but they can only be posted by signed-in members. To sign up, for as little as £12 a year, please go here. Please note, comments appear following moderation (so expect a delay when submitting).