Seven Scots towns chosen to spearhead climate change initiatives

SEVEN Scots towns have been chosen to spearhead initiatives to help tackle climate change.

The towns – Alness, Highlands; Annan, Dumfries & Galloway; Blackburn, West Lothian; Campbeltown, Argyll & Bute; Holytown, North Lanarkshire; Invergordon, Highlands; and Stevenston, North Ayrshire – have been each challenged to adopt ‘place-based’ activities such as creating ‘resilient food networks’.

Also recommended is the adoption of ’20-minute neighbourhood’ planning principles, creating community renewable energy co-operatives and considering the climate when deciding whether to build new buildings or refurbish and adapt existing ones.

Says a Scottish Government announcement, here: “The project will be driven by collaboration between local people and agencies, and their collective vision of what their Climate Action Town looks like. The outcome of the work with the towns will be used to outline learning for climate action on a town scale that can then be applied across Scotland and beyond.”

The announcement adds: “Communities in the seven towns will be offered support to find ways of making changes at a local level that will help tackle the crisis, giving them a voice and engaging those that may not have previously engaged in climate action.

“The programme will be delivered by design agency Architecture and Design Scotland, with funding of £146,000 from the Scottish Government.”

Pictured: Campbeltown; Picture credit: Steve Tolson