Three Scots finalists in awards celebrating buildings that have ‘stood the test of time’

A SET of buildings at a Scots university have been shortlisted in an awards competition celebrating buildings that have ‘stood the test of time’.

The Potterrow development (pictured) at the University of Edinburgh (completed in 2018, by Bennetts Associates) has been named a finalist in the Education category of the awards (here) being run by the magazine, Architecture Today.

It is up against Burntwood School by AHMM (2014), London SW17 and St John’s College by Wright & Wright Architects (2019), Oxford.

And it is not the only Scots finalist; there are another two: The Macallan Distillery, by RSHP, Aberlour, Moray (in the Hospitality and leisure category) and Midden Studio by Studio Weave, Kintyre, Argyll and Bute (in the Workplace category).

The winners will be announced on November 23.

Meanwhile, the finalists in the other categories are:

Healthcare – Maggie’s Manchester by Foster + Partners (2016), Manchester and Rushton Street Surgery by Perkins&Will, formerly Penoyre & Prasad (1997), London N1;

Hospitality and leisure – Boundary by Conran and Partners (2008), London E2 and The Macallan Distillery by RSHP (2018), Aberlour, Moray;

Mixed use and retail – Butler’s Wharf by Conran and Partners (1991), London SE1; East Ham Civic Campus by MICA Architects (2014 and 2016), London E6 and The Canal Building by Child Graddon Lewis (2000), London N1;

Religion and culture – TR2 by Ritchie Studio (2003), Plymouth; South Norwood Library by Hugh Lea, Croydon Borough Architects Department (1968), London SE25; TNG Youth and Community Centre by RCKa (2013), London SE26; The Barbican by AHMM (2006), London EC2 and Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, by MICA Architects (1999, 2009, 2011 and 2013);

Residential – Antony House by FBM Architects (2007), London E5; Copper Lane by HenleyHalebrown (2014), London N16 and Park Hill by Hawkins\Brown and Studio Egret West (2013), Sheffield;

Individual house – 80% House by Prewett Bizley Architects (2010), London N1; Kingswillow by Graham Handley Architects (2019), Cambridgeshire; New Forest House by PAD Studio (2009), Hampshire and
Westlake Brake by David Sheppard Architects (1997), Devon;

Infrastructure and public realm – Eccleston Yards by Buckley Gray Yeoman (2018), London SW1;
Gasholder Park by Bell Phillips Architects (2015), London N1 and Pudding Mill Lane DLR Station by Weston Williamson + Partners (2014), London, E15;

Workplace – Next Headquarters by Orms (1987), Leicester; S.I.A. House by Sansome Hall Architects (2005), Milton Keynes; Talkback offices by HenleyHalebrown (2001), later, the Mandrake Hotel by Manalo & White (2017) London W1; Midden Studio by Studio Weave (2018), Kintyre, Argyll and Bute and 4 Pancras Square by Eric Parry (2017), London N1;

International – Umoja House by The Manser Practice (2004), Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania and Arijiju House by Michaelis Boyd (2016), Laikipia Plateau, Kenya;

Student – Re-housing Manchester ­– The Carbon Conscious Collective, Manchester by Alexandra Francis and Elle Thompson, University of Sheffield; The New Manor Ground, Oxford by Finlay Walsh, University of Bath and Fleetwood Food Collective, Lancashire by Jenny Lee, Oxford Brookes University.

Picture credit: Place Design Scotland

Comments are welcome – only courteous ones (as per our T&Cs) – but they can only be posted by signed-in members. To sign up, for as little as £12 a year, please go here. Please note, comments appear following moderation (so expect a delay when submitting).


Your email address will not be published.