Two new locations added to towns-based climate action project

A SCHEME assisting specific Scots towns to tackle climate change has welcomed two new ‘members’.

Seven towns now become nine with the addition of Drongan, Rankinston and Stair (DRS), in East Ayrshire, and Benarty communities (Ballingry, Crosshill, Lochore and Glencraig), Fife, to the Climate Action Town project, which is funded by the Scottish Government and delivered by its agency, Architecture and Design Scotland.

Says ADS, here: “The Climate Action Towns project works with local people and organisations in small towns across Scotland to empower and support communities to take place-based climate action. They will do this in a way that takes account of the unique challenges and opportunities each town faces.”

The full list of towns now reads: Annan, Alness, Benarty communities (Ballingry, Crosshill, Lochore and Glencraig), Blackburn, Campbeltown, Drongan, Rankinston and Stair (DRS), Holytown, Invergordon and Stevenston.

Picture credit: Richard Carman/Architecture and Design Scotland