Two towns to be added to climate action scheme, as funding extended

TWO Scots towns are to be added to a scheme seeking to take action against global warming, which has had its funding extended by an extra year.

Last year, seven towns – Alness, Highlands; Annan, Dumfries & Galloway; Blackburn, West Lothian; Campbeltown, Argyll & Bute; Holytown, North Lanarkshire; Invergordon, Highlands; and Stevenston, North Ayrshire – were announced as recipients of funding to, among other things, “bring small towns into the climate adaptation conversation”.

Announcing the year two funding, but yet to reveal the identity of the two new towns, Scottish Government agency, Architecture and Design Scotland says, here: “The additional two towns will be identified using the same data-driven approach as the original seven, this time with a focus on areas with high levels of child poverty.”

Pictured: Campbeltown; Picture credit: Steve Tolson

Comments are welcome – only courteous ones (as per our T&Cs) – but they can only be posted by signed-in members. To sign up, for as little as £12 a year, please go here. Please note, comments appear following moderation (so expect a delay when submitting).